Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
Notre Dame Of The South
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 26
| visibility 1

Notre Dame Of The South

Jul 20, 2019, 11:25 AM

Okay, I'm a Carolina grad, lifelong Tiger fan.

I'm a member of IPTAY.

Back in 1966 when picking schools, Clemson was my first choice, followed by NC A&T & Carolina.

Being black, I chickened out at the last minute & decided I wouldn't survive Death Valley.

Why the topic?

Well, before being asked to leave Carolina in 1968, I met with Carolina President Thomas Jones, Basketball coach Frank McGuire and football coach Paul Dietzel.

Paul Dietzel won a National Championship at LSU in 1958, defeating Clemson 7-0.

Why the meeting?

The three wanted to discuss why no black athletes at Carolina.

They explained to me that they couldn't find any black athletes that could compete on the field or in the classroom.

I didn't agree, but what could a 19-year-old black boy tell two HOF coaches about their sports.

Okay. lets get to the topic.

Carolina was in the ACC or an Independent at the time, I don't remember.

But they explained that Carolina's goal was to leave the ACC to become an Independent.

They actually said "Carolina wanted to become the Notre Dame of the South".

Since I'm the only one still alive who was present at the meeting, you have to take my word.

BTW, my niece recently graduated from Clemson, so I am member of the "FAMILY".

After the Marine Corps, I went back to Carolina to get me degree.

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up

Re: Notre Dame Of The South

Jul 20, 2019, 11:38 AM