Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
To parents upset about Clemson’s admissions
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 10
| visibility 551

To parents upset about Clemson’s admissions

Feb 13, 2018, 7:42 PM

I am a current in-state student, and yes I am a legacy. Getting rejected sucks, there’s no sugarcoating it. Sadly, my generation hasn’t been trained to handle it, instead giving out participation ribbons and easy grades. Complaining and getting angry with Clemson is not only childish, but it sets a bad example for those who look up to you. When faced with adversity, how do you (or your kid) respond? I didn’t get in to Clemson because I was a legacy and neither should anyone else. People get outraged because their 1200 SAT, 4.2 GPA kids get bridged (FYI there are people who get with those scores but that is definitely not common). If you stick your nose up to the bridge then you’re not a true Clemson person, so you should encourage your kid to think about it. Appeal and if that doesn’t work then the bridge is still a great choice. But please do not act like your child is special and Clemson somehow betrayed you, because that will only hurt your kid in the long run. Clemson is a special place and always will be. That’s why it’s becoming so competitive. There are a lot of 3 and 4 star football players that Clemson doesn’t offer despite it being their dream. Guys like Hunter Renfrow came and walked on, and of course won a championship. Guys like Nyheim Hines go to other schools, and he’s going to the NFL.

flag link military_tech thumb_downthumb_up