Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
A word of advice on the ACCN
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 27
| visibility 6,057

A word of advice on the ACCN

Aug 18, 2019, 8:12 AM

If you are on the fence, waiting on your service provider to add the ACCN, you probably need to have a contingency plan in place very soon. If you're not savvy with all the technology, and I'm a good example, then you need to start soon if you plan to switch to streaming.

IMO there are a lot of moving parts to going to streaming, and it's not all that intuitive if you're not familiar with this concept. I worked in IT for over 40 years and stayed on the cutting/bleeding edge of technology for years, but now that I'm retired, it's hard to keep up. It took me several days to get everything switched over and tested to my liking. If were simple to just have a tech unplug one wire and plug in another, then no problem, but it is not that simple.

You need to consider internet bandwidth, a streaming device (like Roku, Firestick, etc), if you have a 4K TV and want the best picture in 4K, possibly something like I use (Google Chromecast) to cast from a PC/laptop or iphone/ipad to your TV, possibly several apps that you might need to download to your iphone/ipad and set everything up, and it takes time to test everything to ensure that you can view/record/etc whatever you want. You also need to review the channel lineup for each streaming service to ensure that all your family members are getting the channels they like to watch.

Bottom line - it takes a lot of steps to make it work, so just be prepared.