Tiger Board Logo

Donor's Den General Leaderboards TNET coins™ POTD Hall of Fame Map FAQ
GIVE AN AWARD
Use your TNET coins™ to grant this post a special award!

W
Big Brain
Love it!
Cheers
Helpful
Made Me Smile
Great Idea!
Mind Blown
Caring
Flammable
Hear ye, hear ye
Bravo
Nom Nom Nom
Take My Coins
Ooo, Shiny!
Treasured Post!

YOUR BALANCE
100 posts in, its time I come clean to you guys
storage This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Archives - Tiger Boards Archive
add New Topic
Replies: 13
| visibility 2,127

100 posts in, its time I come clean to you guys

Nov 25, 2018, 11:44 AM

Not that anyone cares, but here it is. I have lived in the Baton Rouge area of Louisiana my entire 30+ years of life. I’ve never even been to South Carolina, though I’d love to. I have a bachelor’s and master’s degree from LSU. So why am I on this board and now such a big fan?

TL:DR at the bottom.

It began with the fact that my dad never took me to any LSU games growing up or really talked about LSU, so I was not raised a fan of any sports team. Then when I was 13, I attended the second annual Manning Pssing Academy and met Peyton Manning, who was going into his senior year of college. He was very generous of his time and knowledge and very patient with all of us, including scrawny 13 year old me who never had of prayer of even playing college football. So I became a big Peyton Manning fan. I rooted for Tennessee his entire senior year. I went to 3 more Manning Passing Academies and met him each time, asking questions and getting thoughtful answers. I became his biggest fan on the planet. I lived and died with whatever team he played for over his entire career.

For the last 12 years, I’ve looked for another guy like Peyton I could really get behind and root for since I knew Peyton couldn’t play forever. There have been some promising prospects, but none ever measured up in the end. I boiled down what I look for to a few key items: